Tuesday, January 23, 2018

COMMANDO Nos.5091 to 5094 out this week

Thanks to D.C. Thomson for the latest info on Commando comics. All four issues are out this week.

5091: Home of Heroes: Highland Games

Patrolling the Scottish Highlands in 1942, seventeen-year-old Rory MacLean was armed only with his BSA air rifle, but at least he had World War One Veterans Sergeant Donald Forbes and Corporal High MacFee for company. Together they may not look a formidable trio, but they were all that stood in the way of an attacking squad of Fallschirmjager!

Proving age is just a number, George Low’s charming tale of tartan-toting-toerags will appeal to young and old alive. Combining this light-hearted but perilous romp is interior and cover artwork by the great Carlos Pino, bringing the care and attention to the affable characters that only he could.

|Story | George Low | Art | Carlos Pino | Cover | Carlos Pino |



5092: Gold Collection: Frightened Hero

It took guts to surrender!

When Corporal Bob Tracy waved the white flag to the Germans, he thought he’d saved his team – but he’d only betrayed them, dooming them with his ‘cowardice’. Marched to a POW camp, Tracy was a pariah, but when his team managed to escape, he was the only chance they had if they wanted to survive! But will Tracy be able to prove himself a capable leader once again? And more importantly, can he prove that he’s no coward? Find out in ‘Frightened Hero’!

Writing the characters who he knows best, Allan masterfully deals with the notion of cowardice in war, as well as leadership and redemption. Bob Tracy starts far from your average Commando hero, but waving the white flag on Penalva’s cover, he looks anything but a coward; the thick oil strokes only adding to the grit and determination of Allan’s titular character.


|Story | Allan | Art | V. Fuente | Cover | Penalva |
Originally Commando No. 436 (November 1969). Reprinted No. 1251 (September 1978).


5093: Action and Adventure: Forgotten Hero

In 1945, two friends began their Commando training at Achnacarry Castle. Only one left alive, and not as a Commando. He was exiled from his training, forced to leave his friends and return to his original squadron. In September, when the war ended, that man chose the solitary life of a gamekeeper.

Then, in the 1970s, an international robbery gang set its sights on a wealthy estate in the Highlands. But in such a desolate place, who would dare to stop them? Armed with only his hunting rifle, that man would be ex-corporal Jim Main, and he would prove that he was not a man to be forgotten!

In his second cover for Commando, Neil Roberts shines again! Proving he is just as adept at drawing aircraft as faces, this time we see three Royal Marines, their crashed Westland Sea King engulfed in flames behind them, as look past us to the unseen threat beyond!


|Story | Colin Watson | Art | Jaime Forns | Cover | Neil Roberts |


5094: Silver Collection: A Tale of Two Wars

Two wars a generation apart.

For the fathers, it began in Gallipoli, 1915, as the Allied forces battled against the Turkish defenders. There, Ted Burns met Ali Kadri, a man he would never forget.

In 1950, North Korea, their sons would meet on the battlefield – this time on the same side. They had no idea of the bizarre connection they shared, but that did not stop them from sharing a bond of their own.

Ian Clark’s story places our heroes right at the centre of their conflicts, and proves that war is timeless as each generation has its own battles to fight, and like the characters who represent them, national enemies can become allies. Meanwhile, complimenting this story is Keith Shone’s distinctive interiors, detailing the backdrops of each battle from the rocky outcrops of the trenches in Western Turkey to ruinous temples in Korea.

|Story | Ian Clark | Art | Keith Shone | Cover | Ian Kennedy |
Originally Commando No. 2687 (August 1993).





Celebrate the 50th anniversary of UK fandom with FANSCENE!

Comics fandom in the UK is just over half a century old, and this year is the 50th anniversary of the very first comic con in Britain. With this in mind, a few months ago David Hathaway-Price set himself the enormous task of producing a fanzine to celebrate the occasion. The result is what can only be described as the ultimate in fanzines; a massive 324 page digital publication! 
Titled Fanscene, the contents include contributions from Alan Moore (who was there back at the beginnings of fandom), Nigel Kitching, Dave Hornsby, Dave Windett, Steve Noble, Dez Skinn, Nick Neocleous, John Freeman, Martin Forrest, Rob Kirby, Geoff Lamprey, John Jackson, Mike Teague and many, many more. There's an interview with the late Leo Baxendale, Mike Conroy interviews Phil Clarke, there's tributes to Steve Whittaker, Alan Austin, Steve Moore and Jim Baikie, and lots of other great stuff. An amazing tribute to the early days of the UK comics community. How it's grown since!

David Hathaway-Price has accomplished an incredible job with Fanscene which is not only a tribute to the glory days of fanzines that will spark many memories but it's also an education for those who weren't there. And best of all, it's free! You can download it from the first link in the following list, or read it online in three parts, or use the last link to download a higher resolution file to have it printed.
FANSCENE Download and read
https://drive.google.com/…/1v4htUqh7voJY4pNB7z7LrPLNZ…/view…
FANSCENE PRINT VERSION (1.8 Gigs. Zip file)
http://sendanywhe.re/686GJTJL
Congratulations to David and all concerned for such a marvellous mag! And the celebrations will continue this year with some events being worked out to commemorate 50 years of UK conventions. More news as it happens!





New comic shop, COMIC DEN opens its doors

News of a new comic shop is always worth celebrating so I was pleased to hear of Comic Den which had its official opening last week. 

The shop is based in Oldham, Greater Manchester, and the official opening ceremony was performed on Saturday 20th January with the local mayor Shadab Qumer cutting the tape. Various artists were also invited for a signing, such as Tim Perkins and Jessica Lucas, along with cosplayers. 
Artist/writer Tim Perkins.
Artist/writer Jessica Lucas.
The opening ceremony.
Comic Den is a family run shop, with Dennis and Sarah Whittle and daughter Amy. "We stock small press as well as all major titles" said Dennis. "We are a comic book store with comics being the main focus."
Dennis went on to explain his inspiration for opening Comic Den. "I wanted to create a hub a place to buy comic talk comics geek out.  I feel some of the bigger stores have forgotten that being into comics isn't just about selling, its about being part of something and I want my store to build on that idea."
He said that the shop will be supporting small press comics and stocking all age titles, encouraging children to pick up a book. (I'm pleased to say that fairly soon you'll find a few copies of Combat Colin on its shelves.)

I'm sure you'll join me in wishing Dennis and his family all the very best with their venture. If you're in Oldham, pop along to the shop. Here are the details:

COMIC DEN
Unit 2 Manchester Chambers
Oldham, 
OL2 1LF 
United Kingdom

Opening times are as follows
Monday - closed
Tues to Fri - 10.30am till 5pm
Saturday - 10.00am till 4.30pm

Sunday - closed

Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/Comic-Den-160685134541937/

My thanks to Dennis for permission to use the photos in this blog post. All photographs by Dan Burgess. 
https://www.facebook.com/DanBurgessPhoto/



Monday, January 22, 2018

Marvel Universe Figurine Collection - starts this week

On sale from Wednesday 24th January is issue 1 of the Marvel Universe Figurine Collection from Panini. Each 16 page issue is accompanied with a figurine of a classic Marvel character, kicking off with Spider-Man. 



You'll find out all the details at the product's website:
https://marvel-figurines.panini.co.uk/#page/1



More collections from 2000AD...

It's going to be a cracking year of graphic novel collections from 2000AD. As well as the aforementioned full colour Halo Jones books, there will also be many other titles to look forward to throughout 2018. Here's the press release with the full information...

The best-selling low price pocket-sized digest editions of Judge Dredd classics move into colour with two all-time great stories in May and August – Dredd teams up with DC Comics’ Batman in the famous Judgement on Gotham while a former Mega-City space marine returns home to find only despair and revenge in Mandroid.

The ever-popular Dark Judges dominate 2018 with two collections. October’s Dominion by John Wagner and Nick Percival follows on from 2015’s Dark Justice and sees the Fearsome Foursome, previously marooned in space, plunge a planet into absolute horror.

The final story in the comic book tie-in to DREDD brings Judge Death to the world of Alex Garland’s gritty, violent 2012 movie. Collected in December, Karl Urban’s version of Dredd confronted with his strangest and most challenging case yet in The Dead World by Arthur Wyatt, Alex De Campi, and Henry Flint.

Collections of the best of the 2000 AD archive continue with secret-agent-turned-secret-weapon M.A.C.H.1, and the first volume of the seminal Future Shocks reveals the extraordinary breadth of 2000 AD’s nursery for new talent for the first time.

Set in a post-war LA where magic is a fact of life, Guy Adams and Jimmy Broxton’s Hope was one of the breakout hits of 2017 and the collection in November is a claustrophobic, atmospheric noir thriller for fans of James Elroy and Vertigo’s Hellblazer, where a magic-wielding private eye investigating the kidnap of a child movie star gets caught in a web of intrigue and betrayal he could never have imagined. All the while being stalked by a nun in a gasmask…

And in October, Alan Grant and Arthur Ranson’s breathtaking Mazeworld will be republished in a larger format Collector’s Edition. Condemned murderer Adam Cadman who as he is hanged finds himself transported to a fantasy world, the executioner’s hood and noose both fixed to his skin. Is Cadman the fabled ‘Hooded Man’ who will overthrow the tyrant of Mazeworld? And what of his comatose body back in the ‘real’ world?


The full 2000 AD graphic novel schedule for 2018:

16/01/2018  9781781086025  Grey Area (TPB £16.99/$19.99)
08/02/2018  9781781086223  Ant Wars (TPB £10.99/$17.99)
22/03/2018  9781781086230  ABC Warriors: The Mek Files Vol. 4 (HB £25/$35.99)
22/03/2018  9781781086438  Strontium Dog: Repo Men (TPB £14.99/$17.99)
22/03/2018  9781781086131  M.A.C.H. 1: The John Probe Mission Files (TPB £16.99/$23)
05/04/2018  9781781086315  Judge Dredd Case Files 15 (US edition) (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
05/04/2018  9781781086315  Judge Dredd: Case Files 31 (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
04/05/2018  9781781086278  2000 AD Digest: Judge Dredd/Batman (Digest TPB £6.99)
17/05/2018  9781781086353  Halo Jones Book 1 (TPB £9.99/$9.99)
14/06/2018  9781781085592  The Complete Future Shocks Vol. 1 (TPB £19.99/$25.99)
12/07/2018  9781781086360  Halo Jones Book 2 (TPB £9.99/$9.99)
26/07/2018  9781781086285  Brink Volume 2 (TPB £12.99/$13.99)
26/07/2018  9781781086292  Lawless Volume 2 (TPB £14.99/$17.99)
09/08/2018  9781781086308  2000 AD Digest: Judge Dredd - Mandroid  (Digest TPB £6.99)
09/08/2018  9781781086322  Sláine: The Brutania Chronicles Book 4 (HB £15.99/$23.99)
23/08/2018  9781781086339  Judge Dredd: Nobody Apes The Law (TPB £14.99/$17.99)
18/09/2018  9781781086377  Halo Jones Book 3 (TPB £9.99/$9.99)
16/10/2018  9781781086544  Dark Justice: Dominion (HB £19.99/$24.99)
04/10/2018  9781781086568  Mazeworld (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
13/11/2018  9781781086582  Hope (TPB £10.99/$14.99)
29/11/2018  9781781086612  Judge Dredd Case Files 32 (TPB £19.99/$24.99)
29/11/2018  9781781086629  Dredd: Final Judgement (TPB £12.99/$17.99)




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...